Six finals in eight years – a look at Manchester City’s Carabao Cup dominance

Manchester City have a chance to win the Carabao Cup for a fourth successive year and a sixth time in eight seasons after reaching this year’s final with victory over rivals Manchester United on Wednesday.

Here, the PA news agency looks at their previous final successes in their outstanding sequence.

2014 – Beat Sunderland 3-1

Samir Nasri (left) scored a superb goal in the victory over Sunderland
Samir Nasri (left) scored a superb goal in the victory over Sunderland (Nick Potts/PA)

Manuel Pellegrini enjoyed a superb first season as City manager as his side claimed a Premier League and League Cup double. The final was not entirely straightforward as Sunderland took a 10th-minute lead through Fabio Borini and deservedly still led at half-time, but all changed as City rattled in a quickfire double soon after the restart. Yaya Toure equalised with a long-range strike in the 55th minute and Samir Nasri followed up almost immediately with a stunning first-time effort from the edge of the box. Substitute Jesus Navas settled an entertaining contest in the last minute.

2016 – Beat Liverpool 3-1 on penalties with score 1-1 after extra-time

Willy Caballero starred as City beat Liverpool on penalties
Willy Caballero starred as City beat Liverpool on penalties (Nick Potts/PA)

Second-choice goalkeeper Willy Caballero was the hero with three penalty saves after a tight contest ended 1-1. Fernandinho had put City ahead early in the second half but Philippe Coutinho levelled late on to force extra-time after Raheem Sterling missed two good chances against his old club. Fernandinho hit the post in the shoot-out but Caballero saved from Lucas Leiva, Coutinho and Adam Lallana to secure the cup and justify his selection ahead of Joe Hart. The victory also meant Pellegrini ended his reign with a trophy in his final season.

2018 – Beat Arsenal 3-0

City proved too strong for Arsenal in 2018
City proved too strong for Arsenal in 2018 (Nick Potts/PA)

City overpowered Arsenal to claim their first trophy under Pep Guardiola. The side had suffered a shock loss to Wigan in the FA Cup five days earlier, ending their quadruple quest, but there was not a hint of a hangover as they swept the Gunners aside. Sergio Aguero pounced on a mistake to lob the opener after 18 minutes and the commanding Vincent Kompany doubled the lead before the hour. David Silva completed a routine victory.

2019 – Beat Chelsea 4-3 on penalties with score 0-0 after extra-time

Kepa refused to be substituted at Wembley
Kepa Arrizabalaga refused to be substituted at Wembley (Nick Potts/PA)

Goalkeepers once again made the headlines, although this time in bizarre circumstances as Chelsea number one Kepa Arrizabalaga refused to be substituted. With the goalless game heading towards penalties, the £71million Spanish keeper started to struggle with cramp and Chelsea manager Maurizio Sarri decided to replace him with former City stopper Caballero. Yet Kepa remained on the field and Sarri stomped off in anger. Kepa did go on to save from Leroy Sane in the shoot-out but Ederson denied Jorginho and David Luiz hit a post, leaving Sterling to score the decisive spot-kick. It was the first leg of an unprecedented domestic treble for Guardiola’s side.

2020 – Beat Aston Villa 2-1

Rodri was on the scoresheet as City beat Aston Villa last year
Rodri was on the scoresheet as City beat Aston Villa last year (Mike Egerton/PA)

City’s run of success continued despite coming up against a spirited, Jack Grealish-inspired Villa, who looked far from the relegation battlers their league position suggested. City looked to be cruising to victory after Aguero put them ahead after 20 minutes and Rodri added a second 10 minutes later but Mbwana Samatta pulled one back before the break. Villa pressed for an equaliser after the break but, with Claudio Bravo producing a fine save to touch a Bjorn Engels header on to a post late on, City held on.

Related Articles

Back to top button