CompetitionsUEFA champions league

Euro 2020 is starting, here’s what you need to know

The UEFA Euro 2020 will kick-off on Friday, as the opening match will be between Italy and Turkey at Olympic Stadium. 

The reshceduled European football championship was originally scheduled to take place last year, but it was postponed due to the spread of COVID-19.

Euro 2020 is considered to be an exceptional tournament, as for the first time in the competition’s history, it will be held in eleven countries. 

Euro 2020 will take place in 11 different cities:

  1. Johan Cruyff Arena (Amsterdam, Netherlands) 
  2. Olympic Stadium (Baku, Azerbaijan)
  3. Arena Nationala (Bucharest, Romania)
  4. Puskas Arena (Budapest, Hungary)
  5. Parken Stadium (Copenhagen, Denmark)
  6. Hampden Park (Glasgow, Scotland)
  7. Wembley Stadium (London, England)
  8. Allianz Arena (Munich, Germany)
  9. Stadio Olimpico (Rome, Italy)
  10. Krestovsky Stadium (Saint Petersburg, Russia)
  11. La Cartuja (Seville, Spain)

Moreover, 24 teams are set to vie for the trophy between 11 June and 11 July. 

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia

Group D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

Furthermore, some players have set impressive individual records for themselves. 

Cristiano Ronaldo is the holder of the record for the most games played at Euro, and he will be participating in his fifth tournament. 

Also, the Dutch keeper Maarten Stekelenburg will be the oldest player to participate in the competition’s history. 

Additionally, Spain has the youngest squad with an average age of 24.5 years, while the Swedes are the oldest at 29.2 years on average.

Also, England has the most valuable squad in the competition  as their squad is valued at €1.27billion. 

Related Articles

Back to top button